Tripping Over My Three G’s

Whoever said March comes in like a lion needs to be smacked! (and that lion needs to be put down and leave me and my family alone!) I’m over here trying to pick up the last of my three G’s – as I’ll call them and stop tripping over the first two.

Let me tell you a bit about my Three G’s…


I used to say, “good grief” quite a bit, but after the last few weeks, the jury still out about how “good” it really is. I guess depending what you learn and how quickly you can pick yourself up from a grieving season, it can be “good”? (I’m a prioritize focus kinda gal, what can I say?)

And hey, let’s clarify that grief is not just about physically losing someone to death. We can grieve over all kinds of losses. A lost relationship, of innocence, a job, or even someone else’s chosen path. Grief knows no bounds or respects boundaries, guess that’s why we are suddenly “stricken” with this grief. I get it, and being grief stricken can be not only painful, but paralyzing.

I’ve learned some things about this “G” known as grief these last few weeks and one of them brings me to the next of my three G’s


Grace is simply undeserved kindness. As simple as the definition implies, is as difficult it can be to apply. Whether you are on the giving or the receiving end. Especially after a grief season. 

Maybe your grief is the direct result of someone else’s actions or choices and it inadvertently affected you…negatively. It can be hard to extend grace to that person.

Maybe your grief is the direct result of your own actions or choices and it directly affected you…negatively. It can be even harder to extend grace to yourself.

Maybe your grief is the direct result of someone’s  lack of action or decision. How do you choose grace over blame?

Maybe your grief is the direct result of  your own lack of action or decision. How do you choose grace over guilt?

Whether your grief came from the actions, or lack of, unfortunate circumstances or an expected result, it hurts, it changes and effects you.

Extend yourself some kindness to take some time to grow through it. 


Courage, resolve and strength of character. That’s grit. It’s when you pull on your big girl (or boy) pants, put on your game face and do what you know needs to be done to get you to where it is you need to be. Grit is about who you become through the trial more than what the trial was or has done to you. 

These three G’s are all a part of every journey.

No one is immune to grief. Grace is hard to both give or receive. And grit is a real display of what we’re really made of.

The question is, will you choose to allow these three G’s to define you or refine you? 

Choosing to be refined over defined right there with ya,





Refining takes some prioritized focus and I’ve created some ways to help you. Check them out HERE!




  1. Dalene on March 24, 2018 at 5:06 pm

    Excellent article, Deana. Thanks for reminding us about the importance of allowing yourself to grieve…and extending grace to even yourself.

Leave a Comment